Software Reviews and Comparisons

First Impressions - Software Reviews and Comparisons

by Larry Neal Gowdy - Updated March 15, 2014



Software Reviews and Comparisons by Larry Neal Gowdy

Software Reviews

First Impressions is a series of reviews that focuses on – yes that’s right – first impressions. It is often said that first impressions are the most important when meeting new people, and likewise a person may judge a software program’s usefulness within the first few minutes of use.

It is very common for my opinions to shift back and forth as I become more familiar with a program, and so what is written here is all but guaranteed to not remain the final word. My comments are based on over twenty years of experience with thousands of software programs, and while my opinions are mere opinions, it is hoped that my comments may help you find the software that best fits your personal needs.

One of the more noticeable differences of this site is that it does not have advertisements. There are no external links given except for those that lead to specific websites that are directly related to the articles' topics. It is my opinion that ads too often devalue a site, and for me a few dollars a month in ad revenue is not worth the cost.

Please feel free to contact me if you have a specific topic that you would like to see in an article. There is no guarantee that I will be able to create the article, but I will most definitely consider the idea.

On October 6th and 7th of 2013 I updated the layout of all pages on First Impressions. I have left the dates as-is on the main pages so as to show when each article was originally published, but several of the articles now have a few additional comments.




Rotork Insight 2 Software Review September 09, 2014

What is Linux Compared to Windows - Software Installation Reviews Part 4 March 15, 2014

Manjaro 0.8.9 Mate Edition Review for March 2014 March 03, 2014


10 Reasons to Upgrade to Windows 8 November 20, 2012

Expression Web 4 Pro Review August 17, 2011

First Impressions Modern Gray Windows 2000/XP Theme August 01, 2011

How to Change XP/2000 Theme to Gray August 01, 2011

How to Turn Off Windows 8 June 8, 2012

How To Update Compaq Presario V2000 Graphics Drivers for Windows 8 / 7 November 22, 2012

Is Office 2003 Compatible with Windows 7 and 8 November 22, 2011

Linux Mint Review November 2, 2011

Linux Versus Windows - How to Choose Which to Use June 22, 2011

Review and Comparison of Adobe Illustrator CS5.1 September 11, 2011

Review and Comparisons of Free HTML Editors June 14, 2011

Review and Comparison of Word 2003, Word 2010, OpenOffice, Libre, and WordPerfect X5 June 25, 2011

Review and Comparison of Windows 2000, Windows XP, and Zorin Linux July 25, 2011

Review and Comparison of Windows 2000, Windows XP, and Zorin Linux Part 2 September 15, 2011

What is Linux Compared to Windows - Software Installation Reviews Part 1 September 11, 2011

What is Linux Compared to Windows - Software Installation Reviews Part 2 September 11, 2011

What is Linux Compared to Windows - Software Installation Reviews Part 3 September 11, 2011

Windows 7 versus XP – Is Windows 7 better than XP – 12 Comparisons August 28, 2011

Windows 8 For XP Users November 02, 2013

Windows 8 Microsoft Apple Linux Humor June 24, 2012

Windows 8 Review December 23, 2012

Windows 8 Start menu June 8, 2012

Windows 8 Start menu part 2 June 10, 2012

Windows Vista Review for May 2012 Part 1 May 19, 2012

Windows Vista Review for June 2012 Part 2 June 7, 2012

Windows Vista Review for July 2012 Part 3 July 9, 2012

World's Best Free HTML Editors February 26, 2013




Unless otherwise stated, all content and graphics are Copyright©2011-2014 by Larry Neal Gowdy.
No content nor graphic may be copied or reused without written permission.